Officers and Trustees

Members elect a President, Secretary, Treasurer, and twenty-four trustees, who collectively select the editors of the Review and the Executive Officer. The President serves a two-year term and one-year as President-elect and Immediate Past-President. The Secretary and Treasurer each serve two year terms and Editors (general editor and book review editor) serve three year terms. The Executive Officer's appointment is five years, renewable.  Elections are held in the Fall of each year for open offices. Each year, the newly elected trustee with the most votes serves as a member of the Executive Committee.

Please click on the names below to see photos and bios.

Executive Committee

President: Penelope Andrews, New York Law School, USA

Past-President: Kim Scheppele, Sociology and Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University, USA

Secretary: Chuck Epp, Political Science, University of Kansas, USA

Treasurer: Mona Lynch, Law, Society and Culture, University of California, Irvine, USA

General Editor, Law & Society ReviewRebecca Sandefur, School of Social and Family Dynamics , Arizona State University

Executive Officer: Steven Boutcher,  University of Massachusetts,Amherst, USA

* Class representatives on the Executive Committee

Board of Trustees

Book Review Editor, Jennifer Balint, Socio-legal Studies, University of Melbourne, Australia

Class of 2019

Andrea Ballestero, Rice University, USA
* Lynette Chua, National University of Singapore, SINGAPORE
Rachel Cichowski, University of Washington, USA
Howard Erlanger, University of Wisconsin, USA
Susan Hirsch, George Mason University, USA
Destiny Peery,  Northwestern University, USA
Ashley Rubin, University of Toronto, CANADA
Kathryne Young, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA

Class of 2020

Fiona Haines, University of Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Sandra Levitsky, University of Michigan, USA
Sida Liu, University of Toronto, CANADA
Victor Quintanilla, Indiana University, USA
Keramet Reiter, University of California, Irvine, USA
* Susan Silbey, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Rachel Stern, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Maartje van der Woude, Leiden University, NETHERLANDS

Class of 2021

Bernadette Atuahene, Chicago-Kent College of Law, USA
Mario Barnes, University of Washington, USA
Tonya Brito, University of Wisconsin, USA
Renée Ann Cramer, Drake University, USA
Mark Fathi Massoud, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA
Renisa Mawani, University of British Columbia, Canada
*Angela Onwuachi-Willig, Boston University, USA
Mitra Sharafi, University for Wisconsin–Madison, USA